The following is a company-submitted press release and does not necessarily represent the views or opinions of Spaces4Learning.

National STEM Scholar Class Announced for 2017

Louisville, Ky. – Ten middle school science teachers from eight states across the country have participated in the prestigious National STEM Scholar Program, a unique professional development and networking program to provide advanced training for the teachers of aspiring middle school scientists nationwide.

In 2016, the National Stem Cell Foundation partnered with the The Gatton Academy of Mathematics and Science in Kentucky at Western Kentucky University to fund competitive scholarships for science teachers motivating students at the tipping point of life-long science interest – middle school. By “training the trainers,” the program seeks to inspire the next generation of STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) innovators and pioneers.

The 2017 National STEM Scholar class was hosted by The Gatton Academy from June 4 – 10, 2017 at Western Kentucky University in Bowling Green, Kentucky. This year’s National STEM Scholars were selected from applicants in 25 states and included:

Suzanne Banas, Miami, Florida – South Miami Middle Community School

Kiki Contreras, Shoreline, Washington – The Evergreen School

Katie Donlin, Byron, Minnesota – Byron Middle School

Angela Gospodarek, Gorham, Maine – Gorham Middle School

Jay Hollis, Bowling Green, Kentucky – Bowling Junior High School

John Lui, Dousman, Wisconsin – Kettle Moraine Middle School

Emily McKernan, Brushton, New York – Brushton-Moira Central School

Valerie Pumala, Cameron, Wisconsin – Cameron Middle School

Donna Shartzer, Harned, Kentucky – Breckinridge County Middle School

Dana Young, Hightstown, New Jersey – Melvin H. Kreps Middle School

Read the entire news release at