The following is a company-submitted press release and does not necessarily represent the views or opinions of Spaces4Learning.

STEM Education Advisory Panel Announced

The National Science Foundation (NSF), in consultation with the Department of Education, NASA and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) today announced the appointment of 18 members to a new advisory panel created to encourage U.S. scientific and technological innovations in education, as authorized by the American Innovation and Competitiveness Act.

Gabriela Gonzalez, deputy director of the Intel Foundation, Intel Corporation, will chair the new STEM Education Advisory Panel. David Evans, executive director of the National Science Teachers Association, will serve as vice chair.

Congress authorized creation of the STEM Education Advisory Panel to advise a group of federal organizations called the Committee on Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics Education (CoSTEM) on matters related to STEM education.

In particular, Congress authorized the panel to help identify opportunities to update the 2013-2018 Federal STEM Education 5-Year Strategic Plan, which CoSTEM developed to improve the efficiency, coordination and impact of federally supported STEM education investments.

In addition, the panel will assess CoSTEM's progress in carrying out responsibilities mandated by the America COMPETES Reauthorization Act.

"This new panel has an opportunity to bring fresh eyes and novel approaches to CoSTEM's next five-year strategic plan, which will help enhance the nation's entire STEM ecosystem," said NSF Director France Córdova, who co-chairs CoSTEM. "NSF continues to generate benefits for society through STEM research. To fulfill that mission, we and our federal partners need to make strategic investments to create new generations of discoverers."

"This advisory panel is another strong step taken by this administration to advance educational options in the STEM fields," said Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos, a CoSTEM member. "I look forward to working with this exceptional new group of STEM leaders to ensure we are constantly rethinking what education means for America's students."

"STEM is vital for NOAA to protect lives and property, enhance the economy, and conserve natural resources," said NOAA acting undersecretary of commerce for oceans and atmosphere, retired Navy Rear Adm. Tim Gallaudet. "As a member of CoSTEM, I look forward to working with this distinguished panel and hearing their recommendations that will help advance these efforts."

"NASA is proud of the many ways that its missions inspire the next generation of STEM leaders. Across the spectrum of our work, students and educators have many opportunities to learn from and engage with our work," said NASA Administrator Jim Bridenstine, who co-chairs CoSTEM. "We're going back to the moon and on to Mars, and we're going to keep doing the amazing things that will help fill the pipeline of new explorers and create a bright future."

The panel is composed of individuals from nonprofit, business, academic and informal education organizations. The members are:

  • Vince Bertram, president and CEO, Project Lead The Way, Inc.
  • Douglas Clements, Kennedy Endowed Chair in Early Childhood Learning, executive director of the Marsico Institute for Early Learning and Literacy, and professor, University of Denver
  • Lizanne DeStefano, executive director, Center for Education Integrating Science, Mathematics, and Computing (CEISMC), Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Arthur Eisenkraft, distinguished professor of science education and director of the Center of Science and Math in Context (COSMIC), the University of Massachusetts, Boston
  • David Evans, executive director, National Science Teachers Association
  • Gabriela González, deputy director of the Intel Foundation, Intel Corporation
  • Jacqueline Huntoon, provost and vice president for Academic Affairs, Michigan Technological University
  • Aimee Kennedy, senior vice president for education, STEM Learning and Philanthropy, Battelle
  • Laurie Leshin, president, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
  • Robert Mathieu, Albert E. Whitford Professor of Astronomy, director of the Wisconsin Center for Education Research, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Ray Mellado, chairman of the board and founder, Great Minds in STEM
  • Ioannis Yannis Miaoulis, president and director, Museum of Science, Boston
  • K. Renae Pullen, K-6 science curriculum instructional specialist, Caddo Parish Public Schools
  • Larry Robinson, president, Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University (FAMU), and director of NOAA's Center for Coastal and Marine Ecosystems at FAMU
  • Kimberly Scott, executive director of the Center for Gender Equity in Science and Technology, Arizona State University
  • Robert Semper, associate executive director, Exploratorium
  • William Yslas Velez, emeritus professor of Mathematics, The University of Arizona
  • Bruce Wellman, Chemistry, Engineering and Robotics teacher, Olathe Northwest High School

For more information on the STEM Education Advisory Panel, please visit