The following is a company-submitted press release and does not necessarily represent the views or opinions of Spaces4Learning.

Some of the Nation’s Most Accomplished STEM Teachers Selected as Albert Einstein Educator Fellows

Washington, D.C. – BUSINESS WIRE – Nine accomplished K-12 science, technology, engineering, and mathematics teachers from across the United States have been named 2019-2020 Albert Einstein Distinguished Educator Fellows. The fellows will spend 11 months serving in a federal agency or U.S. Congressional office in Washington, D.C., engaged in the national STEM education arena.

The Albert Einstein Distinguished Educator Fellowship Program provides a unique opportunity for accomplished K-12 STEM educators to apply their extensive classroom knowledge and experiences to their host offices to inform federal STEM education efforts.

The 2019-2020 Einstein Fellows are as follows:

Amara Alexander – Woodmore Elementary, Chattanooga, Tenn.
Linda Antinone – R.L. Paschal High School, Fort Worth, Texas
Matthew Bryant – South Warren High School, Bowling Green, Ky.
Emilie Hill – Girls Academic Leadership Academy, Dr. Michelle King School for STEM, Sun Valley, Calif.
Stephen Kirsche – Freedom Crossing Academy, St. Johns, Fla.
Alexandra Laing – School District of Palm Beach County, Lake Worth, Fla.
Kenneth Mims – Science Prep Academy, Phoenix, Ariz.
Mary Lou O’Donnell – Plainview Old Bethpage JFK High School, Long Beach, N.Y.
Debbie Reynolds – J.E. Harrison Middle School, Pittsburgh, Penn.

The 2019-2020 Einstein Fellows come from K-12 schools across the country and represent diverse teaching backgrounds—with expertise in computer science, engineering, science, and mathematics. Federal agencies and U.S. Congressional Offices will benefit from fellows’ real-world experiences as educators. In return, Einstein Fellows will gain understanding of the role of the Federal Government in the U.S. education enterprise, knowledge of resources available to students and educators, and broader perspectives on national education issues that can be applied to the classroom or to leadership positions in their districts or elsewhere.

The AEF Program, now in its 29th year of operation, is managed by the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science’s Office of Workforce Development for Teachers and Scientists in collaboration with the sponsoring agencies and the Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education.

Current sponsoring agencies of the AEF Program include DOE, the Library of Congress, the Naval Sea Systems Command, and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration. In addition to sponsoring placements at DOE headquarters, DOE sponsors five placements in U.S. Congressional offices.

The Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education (ORISE) is a world-class DOE institute designed to strengthen a scientific workforce; promote the integrity of scientific research through peer review; provide 24/7 medical response to radiation accidents; evaluate human health data to protect workers from occupational hazards; and conduct independent environmental cleanup assessments.