The following is a company-submitted press release and does not necessarily represent the views or opinions of Spaces4Learning.

ISTE Announces 2016 Board of Director Election Results

Washington, D.C. — The International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) today announced the results of its 2016 election for board of directors. Newly elected to the ISTE board is Randy Hansen, Ed.D., professor, University of Maryland University College, Columbia; and re-elected for a second term is Janet Zanetis, managing director, Center for Interactive Learning and Collaboration, Louisville, Kentucky, who will continue to serve as board secretary. These board members were elected by vote of ISTE membership.

In addition, newly appointed board member Gary Brantley, chief information officer, DeKalb County School District, Stone Mountain, Georgia, will join the board for a three-year term, and the board appointed S. Dallas Dance, Ph.D., superintendent, Baltimore County Public Schools, Towson, Maryland, to a third one-year term. All new terms begin in January 2017.

In the new year, Mila Thomas Fuller, Ed.D., assistant director of online learning, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, becomes ISTE president, and Kecia Ray, Ed.D., executive director, Center for Digital Education, Smyrna, Tennessee, becomes past president.

"We welcome Randy and Gary to the ISTE board and are excited to have Janet and Dallas continue to serve. ISTE membership will benefit from the diverse experiences and insights they have to offer," said Fuller. "On behalf of the entire board, I would like to thank Kari Stubbs and John Keller, both of whom are completing second terms as at-large representatives, for their service on the board. Each brought a unique perspective and made outstanding contributions to the organization."

Continuing board members are Bill Bass, innovation coordinator, Parkway School District, St. Louis; Laurie Conzemius, technology trainer, Park Rapids Area Schools, Park Rapids, Minnesota; Hall Davidson, senior director, Global Learning Initiatives, Discovery Education, Los Angeles; Paige Johnson, K12 Cloud Strategist, Amazon Web Services, Portland, Oregon; Sheryl Nussbaum-Beach, CEO, Powerful Learning Practice, Virginia Beach, Virginia; and Karen Swift, head of department, business and technologies, James Nash State High School, Gympie, Queensland, Australia.

For more information about the ISTE Board of Directors, visit